On blankets and butterfly birthday cookies

There’s something about butterflies that keeps my oldest coming back for more. For the second consecutive year, she requested butterflies for her birthday. This time, in gingerbread. You can find my recipe for soft and yummy spiced gingerbread here.

I suspect it comes from Linnea’s deep affection for a butterfly speckled flannel blanket that swaddled her as a newborn and has maintained a sacred space in her arms every night since. The blanket is one of the few things I have sewn in my life (much to my mother’s disappointment). To my delight, the blanket remains my 6-year-old’s favorite possession. ย The ducky, pictured, is number two. For the record, I did not make the duck…we’ll leave the sewing of cute stuffed animals to the professionals (e.g. Mom)….

These cookies were loosely based on the faded yellow, pinks and greens of Linnea’s butterfly blanket (which appears as the backdrop to these pics). I made these cookies for Linnea to share with her classmates at school.

She already brought in “ducky and blanket” for show and tell on her special helper day. For birthday partying, these butterflies were the next best thing. Another selling point – they’re edible.

9 Comments

Filed under decorated cookies

9 responses to “On blankets and butterfly birthday cookies

  1. Laura

    Do you think I am too old to be one of Linnea’s classmates?

  2. Your colours in your butterfly cookies are beautiful. Linnea will be so excited to bring these to school. Love that you did them on gingerbread cookies! Happy Birthday to your beautiful little girl.

  3. Us

    She is so pleased… our Birthday Girl!

  4. Amy S

    love it! you know…..Dolly Parton loves butterflies, too. If you don’t believe me, just look at your keychain. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    xo

  5. These are lovely!!! The colors are gorgeous!

  6. These are really pretty. I like the unique design too ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

