On a wing and a rose cookies

At some point during almost every wedding ceremony I’ve ever attended, the guests are gently reminded that “love is patient.” 1 Corinthians 13:4. And while I had to Google it for confirmation, the Oregon Duck’s recent Rose Bowl win was a match that required patience. The Ducks last claimed victory in a Rose Bowl back in 1917. And according to the Duck’s beloved fans – my cousin-in-law among them – roses and wings was a love connection worth the 95 year wait.

My cousin’s husband celebrated his mid-January birthday mere days after I had a baby, so I wasn’t quite up for the attention royal icing requires, despite his affection for sugar cookies and my serial affection for making them. When another family dinner popped on the schedule, I couldn’t keep my hands away from the call of the piping bag. Cookie people understand. I know you do.

Love + wings surely must = a Duck’s fan. So the green heart cookie was a no-brainer.

Because the Oregon Ducks’ emblem is so simple (yellow “O” on green), it lends itself to the freehand baker and monogram cookies. For these, I printed a series of big O’s in a Times Roman font, set a sheet of waxed paper over the O’s and piped royal icing over the templates.

I let them dry overnight and then – ever so carefully – pulled them from the waxed paper and placed them in the still wet green icing of the heart.

Roses are red (I’ve heard), so that’s festive. Plus it gave me opportunity to take a page from the great Callye of the Sweet Adventures of Sugarbelle (in this post, she uses an ice-cream cutter to create a Santa cookie) and repurpose a cookie cutter from a Wilton jungle set originally intended for a cute lion face:

For the rose cookie, I used the lion cutter to recreate the official rose of the Rose Bowl emblem for 2012. Here’s my chicken scratch:

I made this drawing to get a feel for the shapes in the rose and then went for it on each cookie. Each one is a little different, kind of like snowflakes. I did the leaves first and added edible glitter while the green icing was still wet. My hope was that the glitter could serve as a distraction, just in case the lines in the rose were a little off mark.

In the end, I don’t think the Duck hearts minded the flaws, because – concerning the Rose Bowl – it’s always been love at first sight.

6 Comments

Filed under decorated cookies

6 responses to “On a wing and a rose cookies

  1. Us

    Clever, clever girl! Those roses remind me of a day in late May, 2000…

  2. Amy S

    amazing. as always.

  3. Paula

    Oh but I love the reasoning behind and thoughtfulness that went into these cookies, never mind the fabulous decorating! So lovely.

  4. Aww.. love these!! I went to the UO 🙂

  5. Cynthia

    So can you make these to sell??

Leave a Reply

