Baby “C” and rhinoceros cookies

I recently had another opportunity to “bake cute.”  A couple of Sunday’s ago, I attended another spring baby shower – for another baby boy – name to be disclosed upon delivery.

His mom allowed me his first initial – C – so that I could practice monogram cookies.  I was eager to follow Bridget at Bake at 350’s instructions from a guest post on Sweetopia.  I was also excited about adding chocolate to decorated cookies.

I started by reviewing fonts on Microsoft Word and decided on a capital C that I liked.  Then, I printed a page full of C’s in 140 point font to create a template.  I piped 2 ounces of semi sweet chocolate (melted in a microwave) with a#1 tip on wax paper placed over the template on a cookie sheet.  Then I placed the cookie sheet in the freezer until I was ready to use the chocolate Cs.  After the Cs were firm, I cut the wax paper into strips, leaving approximately 4 Cs per strip, for workability while placing the monograms, and to ensure that the C’s waiting for placement on a cookie didn’t melt.

For these cookies, I  (very carefully) pulled the chocolate Cs from the wax paper and gently “dropped” them on the square cookies after piping and flooding a white square in the center.  After the drop, I used a toothpick to nudge the monogram  into place and to press it into the frosting.

Later, I added the bubble border.  And I ate the extras.  The chocolate addition was awesome, as expected.  Because chocolate makes all things better, right?

Oh, and I made some rhinos and bright green leaves.  I was worried that the rhinos were hungry.

I’m also happy to announce that the guest of honor arrived last Friday.  I think little Cannon would be pleased with his Cs (and friends).

13 Comments

Filed under decorated cookies

13 responses to “Baby “C” and rhinoceros cookies

  1. Oh, wow! Those look so beautiful and adorable and your Cs are perfect 🙂 Cannon is quite an unusual name, but I quite like it. Oh man, now I want to east cookies…

  2. These look great! I love your colors and that monogram is perfect!

  3. The monogram is very elegant, but I really, really love the simplicity of the leaf. Your cookies inspire me…to eat.

  4. Amy S

    Beautiful cookies!

  5. Vanilla Bean Baker

    Welcome to little Cannon. Everyone must have loved these cookies! Great job on the monogramming and your finishing border around the *C’s* is very cute.

  6. Dad and Mom

    You clever, clever girl!

  7. These are beautiful! I love the detail on the rhinos & leaves especially. They’re inspiring me to try cookie decorating. Did you use Bridget’s sugar cookie recipe too?

  8. Beautiful! I love all the color on the rhinos!!! If you liked working with the chocolate, check out the book ‘The Whimsical Bakehouse.”
    It’s from a bakery in New York that specializes in cakes and cupcakes decorated in chocolate decorations!!! That book got me started me on this path 7 years ago!

  9. Laura

    Love that you added chocolate to the beautiful “C”. But, I mostly love those green leaves! They are just perfect. Classy, simple, yet elegant.

  10. Possible baker

    So cute! I love the bubble border!

  11. Kelsie

    I did not get to taste one of these!!!!! super cute! love the green (:

  12. Pingback: Kristina’s Blue Bells and Chicken Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

