Listen to Your Mother…cookies!

Lights, camera, action!  This past Sunday, on Mother’s Day, I had the supreme pleasure of joining 11 other women on stage at the local production of Listen to Your Mother, a show that allows mothers to share essays on moments of motherhood (I spoke about our issues with infertility before our kiddos were born).

Our local Spokane, Washington, USA, show was brought about by two very special people, Stacey Conner (producer/director) and Elise Raimi (producer).  Their hard work and shared belief that this was something  important, made it happen.  They were sooooo right on the money!

It was a wonderful way to spend Mother’s Day.  I felt loved, empowered and pretty.   What more could a girl ask?

Funny, due to pre-show gussy-ing up, rehearsals, showtime and post show margaritas, I didn’t spend much of the day with my kids.  But I sure felt honored to be their mom, mostly by the moments of reflection the show allowed and the gift of hearing the inspiring and at times, all-too familiar stories of other women.  I laughed, I sobbed and I can’t wait to do it again next year, in any capacity!

The “symbol” of Listen to Your Mother Show, LLC, is a red megaphone.

Some promotional materials also feature a retro microphone.  I chose the cookie designs by channeling those items, and the red roses we all hope will delicately shower upon us when we engage in something that might – even remotely – require “jazz hands.”   I worked from clip art this time, printing and laminating the megaphone and microphone images.

From there, I traced around the images on the cookie cutouts with a paring knife before baking to create an outline for decorating the baked cookie.

I made these cookies to celebrate the women who stepped into the spotlight – blinding as it was – to share a little of their souls (and sometimes their funny bones) with the rest of us!  Congratulations and cheers to you all!

11 Comments

Filed under decorated cookies

11 responses to “Listen to Your Mother…cookies!

  1. Laura

    Kristina, you continue to amaze me! I looked at the website for Listen to Your Mother and saw more information about it. What a wonderful idea. How lucky they were to have you be a part of it.
    The cookies are beautiful, but more inspiring is how beautiful you are!

  2. I love you for this and I don’t even know you! Wow. This is just awesome. Congrats on a wonderful show!!

  3. The cookies were almost as wonderful as you are. xoxoxoxo.

  4. P.S. Put those pictures in the LTYM flickr group!!

  5. Vanilla Bean Baker

    Congratulations for being chosen to be a part of Listen to Your Mother and congratulations on these awesome cookies your made for those involved. So sweet of you and so very creative!

  6. Amy S

    I would totally listen to MY mother if she made me those.

  7. I am so very proud of you. I wish I could have been there, and not for just the cookies 😉

  8. crustabakes

    LOL, i love the megaphone idea on the cookies! How very original and well thought of. 🙂

  9. Awww…these are great for mommy’s:) How come since I became a mommy, I feel like I sometimes have megaphone status? lol!

  10. Beautiful cookies! I hope you had a lovely evening on the stage!

  11. Pingback: Kristina’s Blue Bells and Chicken Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

