Caramel bar

Maybe it was the talk of matzoh crackers dipped in chocolate at a children’s Passover Seder I attended recently – along with this picture from Crustabakes, perfectly depicting the yummy phenomenon that occurs when hot caramel (or toffee, in Crustabake’s case) oozes through the crags and air holes in crackers – that caused me to belly up to the caramel bar.


First, I made sure the bar was well stocked.

Also, there was salt.  Lots of flaky finishing salt.  Sprinkled generously like fairy dust first over the mounds of crackers, chocolate, popcorn and candy coated sunflower seeds.

Then a second time, over the freshly poured caramel.  It can just be assumed that when I say caramel, I mean salted caramel.

This a chewy and substantial caramel.  The recipe requires some time but is relatively easy.

After pouring, I let the pan sit overnight before cutting the candy into pieces.  I think a few hours will do the trick, especially because the caramel is so darn hard to resist!

The first time I tried this, I embedded the crackers in the caramel and then spread melted semi-sweet chocolate on top while the caramel was still warm.  The two were like oil and water and did not stick to each other.  I also thought the chocolate was a bit dominating.  The next couple rounds, I sprinkled a few chocolate chips among the crackers.

The hot caramel oozed over them like a lava flow and “fossilized” everything in its path to satisfying effect.  I was pleased with the chocolate, crunch and salt balance overall.  Sort of like that perfect drink.  Sort of (but better).

[ PRINTABLE RECIPE ]

Gorgeous Chewy Caramel

1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 stick (1/2 c.) salted butter
1 cup sugar
2 cups light corn syrup

1.  Remove paper wrapper from can of sweetened condensed milk.  Place unopened can in a pot of water, making sure to cover the can with water.  Bring water to boil on a burner set to high.  Turn the heat down to medium and simmer the can in the water for 2 hours.  Make sure the can is covered by water at all times.

2.  While the milk simmers, generously grease a large rimmed cookie sheet with butter.  If using crackers, popcorn, chocolate or other treats, arrange them on the pan.  I would advise using a few chocolate chips because the caramel does not adhere well to a “sheet” of chocolate.

3.  After two hours, off heat and remove the can from the pot of water.  The contents are under pressure, so open the can carefully with a can opener, preferably in the kitchen sink, because a bit of cooked milk will squirt out.  The milk should be a light caramel color.

4.  Pour the cooked milk in a heavy pot.  Add the butter, sugar and corn syrup, and mix with a wooden or silicone spoon.  Have an instant read or candy thermometer handy, and place the pot on a burner set to medium.

5.  Stir the mixture continuously, taking care to scrape the bottom of the pot, for approximately 30 minutes, until the temperature reaches a whopping 250 degrees Fahrenheit.

6.  When the mixture reaches 250 degrees, immediately remove the pot from the heat and pour the caramel into the buttered pan.

7.  Wait a few hours or overnight to allow the caramel to set.  Using a chef’s knife or other heavy knife, cut the caramel into strips and then into desired shapes.

17 Comments

Filed under candy

17 responses to “Caramel bar

  1. Gorgeous indeed. I love the matzoh addition. Very creative.

  2. Love this post, Kristina! The flaky salt is so elegant. Love love love that you used matzoh for some of this! Also, so good to know about adding the chocolate on the warm caramel. Am clipping this one to Evernote right away! Have a great week! xo

  3. Dad and Mom

    Maybe with this carmel and a few marshmellows you’ll be able to make Chris’s favorite Christmas time candy all the time!

  4. What a treat! Broken into pieces and packaged would make such a lovely hostess gift etc.

  5. these look delicious… they would be wonderful to snack on 🙂

  6. I gasped out loud when I saw this. Now you are talking!

  7. This looks delicious and gorgeous (you have photo AND baking talent, girl!). I have always been intimidated by making caramel, but I am going to have to give this recipe a try!

  8. These caramel bars make me drool and want to make some even I am not a sweet tooth person.

  9. Salted caramel and matzoh makes me look forward to Passover! Have you ever seen the round matzohs called Shmurah Matzoh? I did those this year as gifts. (http://saltandserenity.com/2011/04/22/my-passover-faux-pas-shmura-matzoh-crunch/ )I love your addition of candy coated sunflower seeds. So pretty. I would belly up to your bar anytime! Love the name of your blog too!

  10. Your caramel looks SO good! I just found your blog and I’m so glad I did!! LOVE IT!
    -mini baker

  11. This looks AMAZING. I can’t decide which I want to eat more, the crackers or the popcorn. I have to make this soon.

  12. What a super fun idea! I am sure I would love all of these variations!

  13. This is awesome! And super creative :)! Can’t wait to give these a shot.

  14. Pingback: Matzo-a-must Passover treats | paddle attachment

  15. Pingback: Chocolate silk pie with salted caramel ribbons | paddle attachment

  16. Pingback: Cherish Sweets – Chocolate Silk Pie With Salted Caramel Ribbons

Leave a Reply

