Almond macaroon daisies and dots (and amoeba)

For every city I have lived, and most that I’ve visited, I can tell you exactly where to find the best almond croissants available for public consumption.  It is an evolving list, updated on occasion after significant research on my part.

Because croissant baking is an art in itself and more time-consuming than a normal baking session allows, I have found a quick alternative.  The almond macaroon offers almond paste lovers pure, chewy almond goodness without the rise and roll required of a flaky croissant.

pre-powdered

snowy powder shapes

cookies seeking coffee

I made these cookies for a dear friend, Kate, who also appreciates all things almond.   Over the years, Kate has given me both advice on the fly as well as the long-term commitment and comfort that the messy crises of life demand.  I know she loves me.  It’s as simple as that.

So like many gestures in life, this one is small.  Thank you, Kate.  I’ll get you those fancy almond croissants real soon, I promise.

 

Margin Notes: This is a basic, easy-peasy recipe.  I mixed it up a bit by piping out daisy shapes with the batter in hopes of getting some contrast with the drop-a-dollop-from-a-spoon, typical rounds.   As you can see, my flowers sometimes look like something under a microscope.  Of course, the rounds are equally delicious, so I’d advise sticking to the drop and bake method.

added work

Also, while baking, use your nose to guide you.  If the sweet scent of almonds begin to surround you in the kitchen, check out your cookies, because they’re probably perfectly browned and dangerously close to burning.  Finally, when done, be sure to let them cool for at least 30 minutes (longer is fine) before pulling them from the parchment paper.  As you can see, these cookies have sticky bottoms:

Man overboard!

13 Comments

Filed under soft & chewy cookies

13 responses to “Almond macaroon daisies and dots (and amoeba)

  1. Amy S

    One of my favorites that you make! Maybe even my favorite! I think Chad’s favorite is whatever is right in front of him. 🙂

  2. yummm!
    i liked that you piped the cute daisies, definitely worth the added time.

  3. These look yummy! I love almond cookies! I like the little flower shapes too!

  4. crustabakes

    kate must be enjoying her amoebas ! I should pay her a visit and get a handful of these!

  5. Kate

    I am drunk with almond cookie joy and your undying affection. THANK YOU for my delicious, dainty delights! It seemed crass to stuff these cute cookies in my mouth by the handful, but who can resist? 🙂 Hubby and kiddos thank you as well. Also, thanks for putting me in a blog! I feel so Kim Kardashian (minus the important assets). I love you & your every baking move. 🙂 xoxox

  6. These are beautiful and sound delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!

  7. The recipe link doesn’t seem to be working…

  8. I didn’t receive an email. I think the problem could be that the google docs file isn’t set for anyone to view…
    Sorry for the trouble; I’m just excited to make the cookies!

Leave a Reply

