Too sexy for this shirt, a/k/a green floral print cookies


Like many bakers out there, I happily made some decorated St. Patty’s day cookies this year and even timely sent them off to my brother’s kids.

As you’ll soon find, decorated cookies are trending as my current obsession, thanks in large part to the inspiration and detailed instructions from Bridget at Bake at 350.  For the past month or so, I’ve been working from printed copies of her sugar cookie and royal icing recipes.  The recipes are top-notch and my copies have the flour dust and vanilla splatter to prove it.

My post-St. Pat’s cookie session derived first from the gobs of green and white frosting left over from the holiday and the green shirt I wore on the 17th to honor the Irish among us.

Finally, a girls’ night in this past Friday – an excuse to make them (often as important as anything else) – sealed the deal.

Margin Notes: This was the first time I looked for inspiration apart from baking books and the internet and I must say,  it was exhilarating.  Really.  I’m trying to channel some inner creativity, likely buried in my 9th grade contour drawing class.  In any event, my current conundrum with decorated cookies rests at that line between the piped outline and the flooded middle.  You can always see where my thinned frosting ends and the un-thinned begins.  Any suggestions for achieving a “seamless” top?

37 Comments

Filed under decorated cookies

37 responses to “Too sexy for this shirt, a/k/a green floral print cookies

  1. Meggan

    So excited for the start of your baking blog. The St. Pat’s cookies were beautiful and delicious. Can’t wait to see what you bake up next.
    M

  2. anymommy

    Gorgeous, imaginative cookie confection perfection. xo.

  3. Your cookies are so festive! And what a great source of inspiration! Love it!

  4. Jeanette

    I want the cookies. And the top. Except it has a pattern so it would likely look gross on me. When are you coming shopping?

    • Thanks, as always, J. I didn’t realize you had an aversion to prints. We need to fix that, pronto!

      • Jeanette

        I think it’s more that prints have an aversion to me. They don’t like to compete with all the crazy going on with my hair, I suspect. Still, I’m open to suggestion.

        Today I am baking a meyer lemon pound cake for the second time. Jessika found the recipe for me the last time I had a bunch of lemons to do something with. This time around, I ordered extra meyer lemons so I could make it again. SO GOOD!!!!

      • I saw mention of this famed cake on FB. I’m not sure if I’ve ever tasted a meyer lemon. Sweeter, right? I can’t wait to get back to Denver to try a pound of your pound cake (and maybe steal the recipe). But what else is new?

  5. Lisa

    Wow Kristina!! So professional – both the cookies and the website! I’m very happy and excited for your new endeavor (:

  6. Dad and Mom

    Your blog is just great, so fun and so YOU! As usual, your cookies are absolute perfection. I’m sending the link to everyone we know!

  7. Beautiful cookies! You did an amzing job getting them to look like the shirt. You have talent and I’ll be popping over to see what else you and your beautiful mixer create!

  8. Laura

    Kristina~
    This is amazing. I had heard that you loved to bake and decorate cakes, but didn’t know you were so very talented! I look forward to reading more in your blog. And, thanks to your mom and dad for sharing the link. It’s great!

  9. Linda

    You are so talented, the cookies you made are too pretty to eat, but am sure they are as delicious as they are pretty! When do you find the time to do all of this? Linda

  10. Uncle Mack

    Be sure and send me at least a DOZEN!!

  11. Wow! Your first post! Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging!!! I just started a few months ago. Thanks for stopping by my blog by the way! 🙂 If I could give you any advice it would be to become a part of Foodbuzz.com. You can find me there. It can bring loads of traffic to your blog. Also, I would eventually suggest a Twitter account for your blog. People network with other foodies like crazy over there! It is a lot of fun and also a great way to invite other foodies to look at your new posts. Congratulations again on jumping into the world of blogging. Email me if you have any questions. I’d be happy to help in any way. Your cookies are amazing by the way!!! ♥- Katrina

    • Katrina – Thanks so much for your comment and advice. I will definitely open a Twitter account (and actually Twitter on it). Thanks too for the word about Foodbuzz.com. I’ve seen it on a lot of foodie sidebars, but wasn’t sure what it was all about. – Kristina

      • No prob! I’m a newbie myself 🙂
        Foodbuzz is confusing at first but great. You need to request to be foodie friends with a bunch of people. You basically submit your blog post. Share it with all of your friends on foodbuzz and then start buzzing people. Your friends’ posts will start showing up in your foodbuzz inbox. Give them a look and a buzz if you like their post. Everybody is trying to get to 99 buzz on their post. Then you have a shot of being in the Foodbuzz Top 9. If you go there friend request Chef Dennis and then take a look at his blog – he has a whole bunch of helpful foodbuzz hints.

  12. Beautiful cookies! Inspires us all! Love your blog!

  13. Erin

    Aunt Puck was right, she did send it to everyone she knows! LOVE IT!
    Beautiful work, Kristina – I wish I lived closer so I could be a taste tester…

  14. Gin

    Great job Kristina, your cookies look awsome! Didn’t kow you had it in you!

  15. That pattern on the cookies is great!!! And your post just made my day! My cookies always have the outline visible, too. I think it’s easier to work with, but I love the lok of the other, too.

  16. Pingback: Kristina’s Blue Bells and Chicken Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

